‘World Cup Brisbane’- update

winners of the madison Sam Welsford and Cameron Meyer

A standing ovation and huge cheers for Sam Welsford and Cameron Meyer as they take madison GOLD for Australia in Brisbane!

Camereron Meyer and Sam Welsford rounded off the Brisbane stop of the  World Cup season in style by winning the men’s madison in front of a home crowd.

The Australia pairing were one of four teams to earn a lap on the field during the event at the Anna Meares Velodrome, which assured them of 20 points.
Meyer and Welsford regularly featured in the scoring positions during the 20 sprint laps, which included winning the final burst for the line to add 10 points to their total.

The duo sealed victory with an overall tally of 76, with New Zealand’s Thomas Sexton and Aaron Gate settling for silver on 60. The podium places were completed by the French pairing of Morgan Kneisky and Kevin Vauquelin, who ended on 41 points.

Men madison
Australia”Sam Welsford – Cameron Meyer (Aus) 76 pts
New Zealand: Aaron Gate – Thomas Sexton 60 pts
France: Morgan Kneisky – Kevin Vauquelin 41 pts

Women keirin finalists
Stephanie Morton (Aus)
Nikola Sibiak (Pol)
Liubov Basova ( Ukr)
Natasha Hansen (Nzl)
Nicky Degrendele
Martha Bayona (Col)

Men sprint finals
for gold : Mateusz Rudyk (Pol) – Saam Webster (Nzl)
for bronze: Matthew Gleatzer – Jaïr Tjon En Fa (Sur)


Women omnium ¾
1. Jennifer Valente (USA) 78 pts
2. Anette Edmondson (Aus) 76 pts
3. Allison Beveridge (Can) 72 pts
4. Holly Edmonston (Nzl) 62 pts
5. Vittoria Guazzini (Ita) 56 pts